Al Ahly crowned African Champions.

Written by on 12 June, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

Al Ahly wins the 2023 CAF Champions League for the 11th after playing a 1 all draw against Wydad.

The Egyptian heavyweights claimed the 2022-23 continental championship with a 3-2 aggregate triumph overall, having won 2-1 in the first leg in Cairo last weekend.

Defeat for Wydad ended a run of two final victories over Ahly, and they paid the penalty for concentrating on defending their fragile second-leg lead instead of seeking further goals.

Last year, Wydad AC secured the title with a 2-0 victory over Al Ahly in the final, led by Walid Regragui, who currently coaches Morocco’s national team. Al Ahly holds the record for the most Champions League titles in Africa with 11 wins, while Wydad has won the title three times.

Bafana Bafana attacker Percy Tau has entered the history books, with Al Ahly winning, Tau became the first South African player to win two CAF Champions League titles.

image: AP Mosa’ab Elshamy

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear