Tete Dijana and Gerda Steyn set a new record at 2023 Comrades Marathon

Written by on 11 June, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

SOUTH Africa’s Tete Dijana has won his second successive Comrades Marathon title and set a new record time.

Tete crossed the finish line at the Kingsmead Cricket Stadium in a time of 05:13:58 in a new course record. This year’s race was a downhill run from Pietermaritzburg to Durban Dijana beat more than four minutes off David Gatebe’s best time of 5:18:19, in 2019.

Dijana was closely followed by Piet Wiersma who finished in a time of 5:14:01. Meanwhile, KwaZulu-Natal’s Gerda Steyn who smashed the Up time when she won in her last outing in 2019, crossed the line in 5hr 44min 54sec, almost 10 minutes better than the 5:54:43 mark from 1989.

Adele Broodryk came in second in the women’s race, with Carla Monilaro clinching the third spot.


powered by Advanced iFrame. Get the Pro version on CodeCanyon.





Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear