Viola Davis has officially achieved EGOT status at the Grammy Awards

Written by on 7 February, 2023

Viola Davis became the 18th recipient of the EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony) award on February 5, 2023, at the 65th Grammy Awards ceremony. The EGOT is a prestigious award given to individuals who have won all four of the biggest American entertainment awards. This means Viola, becomes the 3rd black female EGOT winner after, Whoopi Goldberg and Jennifer Hudson.

In her acceptance speech at the Grammy’s, Davis said:

I wrote this book to honor the six-year-old Viola. To honor her life, her joy, her trauma, everything and it has just been such a journey. I just EGOT.

In 2015, she became the first person of color to win the Emmy for best lead actress in a drama for her role in the show How to Get Away with Murder and only a year later she would win the best supporting actress Oscar for the cinematic adaptation of the play Fences, in which she reprises her Tony-winning stage role.

The legendary Jennifer Hudson tweeted:

Fans didn’t hold back with excitement:


Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear