Written by on 25 July, 2023

The Winners for the 2023 Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film and Television awards were announced on Saturday, 22 July at the glittering 10th Simon Mabhunu Sabela KZN Film and TV Awards to celebrate a decade of excellence  in the film and television industry. The awards were hosted by South African TV host and actress Minnie Dlamini and actor Siphesihle Vazi at the Durban ICC.

This monumental event was made possible by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission, in collaboration with the Economic Development, Tourism, and Environmental Affairs department, and honoured outstanding talent, creativity, and storytelling in KwaZulu-Natal’s vibrant entertainment landscape. Esteemed government officials, renowned film and TV contributors, and industry professionals gathered to acknowledge and applaud the exceptional achievements of the nominees and winners.

The Simon Mabhunu Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards have become synonymous with recognizing and uplifting local talent, and this year’s edition was no exception. The awards showcased the diversity and richness of the KwaZulu-Natal film industry, highlighting the remarkable contributions of filmmakers and television professionals. Winners were announced in various categories, each representing the pinnacle of excellence in their respective fields.

Notable winners from the 10th Simon Mabhunu Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards include Sdumo Mtshali Best Actor – TV, Nompilo Maphumulo Best Actress – TV, Fanele Zulu Best Actor – Film, Sibongokhule Nkosi Best Actress – Film, Vuyo Biyela Best Newcomer Actor, Baby Cele, Best Supporting Actress Film, Thembi Nyandeni Best Supporting Actress TV and the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Ruth Cele, Roland Mqwebu and Dr Thembi Mtshali Jones.

  1. Best Feature Film Winner: Valley of a Thousand Hills
  2. Best African Film Winner: Valley of a Thousand Hills
  3. Best Made for TV Film Winner: Ukhumbuzile
  4. Best Micro Budget Film Winner: Umalusi
  5. Best Student Film Winner: Winterslaap (Hibernation)
  6. Best Screenplay – Short Winner: Red Tape
  7. Best Screenplay – Feature Winner: Valley of a Thousand Hills
  8. Best Documentary – Feature Winner: Maskanda & Professor
  9. Best Documentary – Short Winner: Amandla Embokodo
  10. Best Conservational/Wildlife Documentary -Short Winner: Our Changing Climate Ep 1 11. Best Conservational/Wildlife Documentary – Feature Winner: Snakes in the City Ep 2 12. Best Use of KZN as a Filming Location Winner: Valley of a Thousand Hills 13. Best Use of KZN in a Music Video Winner: We have it all – Kyle Deutch & Aewon Wolf 14. Best IsiZulu Film Winner: Valley of a Thousand Hills
  11. Best Short Film Winner: Indoda
  12. Best Director Winner: Bonie Sithebe – Valley of a Thousand Hills
  13. Best Actor – TV Winner: Sdumo Mtshali as Muzi Phakathwayo in The Estate 18. Best Actress – TV Winner: Nompilo Maphumulo as Nosipho in Uzalo
  14. Best Actor – Film Winner: Fanele Zulu as Joe in Uthando Lwethu
  15. Best Actress – Film Winner: Sibongokuhle Nkosi as Thenjiwe in Valley of a Thousand Hills 21. Best Supporting Actor – TV Winner: Mthandeni Mbambo as Sibiya in Durban Gen 22. Best Supporting Actress – TV Winner: Thembi Nyandeni as Njinji in Uzalo
  16. Best Supporting Actress – Film Winner: Baby Cele in Ukhumbuzile
  17. Best Supporting Actor – Film Winner: Byron McNeil in Bonsai
  18. Best Newcomer Actor – TV Winner: Vuyo Biyela as Mlilo in The River
  19. Best Newcomer Actress – TV Winner: Sibongokuhle Nkosi as Thembinator in Durban Gen 27. Best Newcomer Actor – Film Winner: Sfundo Maphumulo in Umalusi

28.Best Newcomer Actress – Film Winner: Mandisa Vilakazi in Valley of a Thousand Hills





Congratulations to all the winners, and the nominees too.

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear