Zakes Bantwini Drops New Album ‘The Star Is Reborn’ OUT NOW!

Written by on 8 December, 2023

Grammy award winner and Afro-tech sensation, Zakes Bantwini has officially dropped his long-awaited album, ‘The Star Is Reborn’.

The new album is described “a continuation of the sonic story he first started on 2021’s ‘Ghetto King’”. According to Zakes, the album title was inspired by a conversation about cars.

“People who fall in love with a car always look forward to a new facelift and I think that’s what happens with my music”, he tells Apple Music. “I take time to give you a new body of work. So, when I give you the last album, you will hold onto it until you get another one.”

” When you really think about the sound that I’m doing, right now and the approach and the things that I’m achieving, I feel like I’m indeed reborn in this industry.”

‘The Star Is Reborn’ serves as Zakes Batwini’s fourth album following ‘Love, Light And Music’ (2013), ‘Love, Light And Music 2’ (2017), and ‘Ghetto King’ (2021).

It is a 10-track oeuvre that includes contributions from the likes of Skye Wanda, Drega, Simmy, Karyendasoul and more.

Stream ‘The Star Is Reborn’ below and watch Zakes Bantwini’s full interview on the album with Nandi Madida HERE.

IMAGE: Zakes Bantwini/ Twitter


1. Zakes Bantwini – Abasekho

2. Zakes Bantwini – Ugesi ft. Skye Wanda

3. Zakes Bantwini – Utshwala ft. Simmy

4. Zakes Bantwini – Dubai

5. Zakes Bantwini – Love Again ft. Nana Atta & Soulroots

6. Zakes Bantwini – Ngin’mele Nonke ft. Drega

7. Zakes Bantwini – Mama Thula ft. Skye Wanda, Thakzin & Suffocate SA

8. Zakes Bantwini – iParty 2.0 ft. Simmy & Drega

9. Zakes Bantwini – Iyangena Iyaphuma ft Kususa

10. Zakes Bantwini – Abantu ft. Karyendasoul, Da Africa Deep & Nana Atta [Da Africa Deep Remix]

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear