FIFA World Cup will take place in six countries

Written by on 5 October, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

The 2030 FIFA World Cup will take place in six countries across three continents.

FIFA, the world soccer’s governing body, said in a statement that the matches in South America were part of the celebration of the centenary of the first World Cup in Uruguay. For the first time in the tournament’s history, the European, African and South American confederations have agreed on a single bid, presented by Morocco, Spain and Portugal, but with three matches to be held in Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay.

The decision to host the 2030 tournament’s opening game in Uruguay is meant to commemorate the World Cup’s 100th anniversary: the first-ever World Cup was held in Uruguay in 1930, and the small Latin American host country took the victory after beating Argentina in the final.

President Gianni Infantino says FIFA will use the 2030 World Cup to unite the world and to celebrate together the beautiful game.
”In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents, Africa, Europe, and South America, six countries, Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain, and Uruguay, welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary, and the FIFA World Cup,” the FIFA President concluded.

The next edition of the FIFA World Cup will take place in Mexico, Canada, and the United States of America after Qatar became the first country in the Gulf to host the tournament in 2022.

image: AP Photo/Matthias Schrader

powered by Advanced iFrame. Get the Pro version on CodeCanyon.

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear