The Springboks claim the Webb Ellis Cup for a record-breaking fourth time.

Written by on 28 October, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

The Springboks have won the Rugby World Cup 2023, making history as the first team to ever win the trophy FOUR times (1995, 2007, 2019 AND 2023).

South Africa maintaining their proud record of never having lost a Rugby World Cup final after beating New Zealand 12-11.

Bongi Mbonambi suffered a nightmare start to the match as a knee injury forced the hooker off after only four minutes, four years after he lasted only 20 minutes in the 2019 World Cup final.

The All Blacks entered the contest as slight favourites following a comprehensive 44-6 victory against Argentina, while the Springboks reached Saturday’s showpiece event after a last-minute penalty secured them a narrow 16-15 win over England.

With just over 20 minutes to go, New Zealand scored the first valid try of the match (by Beauden Barrett), putting just a point between the two teams (11-12) – both competing to be the first to win four Rugby World Cup titles.

image: Springboks X

powered by Advanced iFrame. Get the Pro version on CodeCanyon.

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear