Bafana Bafana AFCON Qualifier group confirmed

Written by on 4 July, 2024

By Ayanda Nyuswa

Bafana Bafana have learnt about their opponents for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign, with the draw taking place in Johannesburg on Thursday. South Africa was drawn in Group K alongside Uganda, Congo and South Sudan. The 2025 AFCON will be hosted by 1976 winners Morocco in  at a revised date, as the tournament dates were moved from June & July 2025 to 21 December 2025 – 18 January 2026 to accomodate the extended FIFA Club World Cup.

South Africa will be looking to qualify for the second continental show piece event in a row, and improve on their bronze medal finish that was achieved in Cote D’Ivoire earlier this year. There are 12 groups in total at the AFCON qualifiers with the top two teams in each group qualifying for the tournament, and matches set to kick off in September this year.



Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear