Erasmus names a squad packed with World Cup winners for Ireland test

Written by on 2 July, 2024

By Ayanda Nyuswa

Springboks coach Rassie Erasmus has named a squad full of World Cup winners for the first test of the Castle Lager Incoming series against Ireland at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. The squad features a total of 20 World Cup winners, which includes the entire starting 15 and five players on the replacements bench. Siya Kolisi has returned to the starting 15 to captain the side, taking over from Pieter-Steph du Toit who led the Boks in their 41-13 win against Wales last weekend. 

The three players in the squad who did not feature in last years successful World Cup campaign are on the replacements bench, as the coaching staff opted for a six-two split in favour of the forwards, and includes Vodacom Bulls prop Gerhard Steenekamp, Stormers lock Salmaan Moerat and his teammate Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, who is set to receive his second Bok cap after impressing on debut against Wales.

Springbok team to face Ireland at Loftus Versfeld:

15 – Willie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls) 

14 – Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath) 

13 – Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles) 

12 – Damian de Allende (Wild Knights)

11 – Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls) 

10 – Handré Pollard (Leicester Tigers) 

9 – Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles) 

8 – Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs) 

7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz) 

6 – Siya Kolisi (captain, Racing 92) 

5 – Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) 

4 – Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks) 

3 – Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) 

2 – Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks) 

1 – Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks) 


16 – Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) 

17 – Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Bulls) 

18 – Vincent Koch (Hollywoodbets Sharks) 

19 – Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers) 

20 – RG Snyman (Leinster) 

21 – Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls) 

22 – Grant Williams (Hollywoodbets Sharks) 

23 – Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers) 

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear