Erasmus names strong Springbok squad for Castle Lager Incoming Series

Written by on 25 June, 2024

By Ayanda Nyuswa

Springboks coach Rassie Erasmus named a strong 39-man squad for the Castle Lager Incoming series in July. South Africa will face Ireland in two test matches on 6 and 13 July, which will be followed by a once-off test match against Portugal on 20 July. In addition to the 39-man main squad, 14 players will be on the standby list for the incoming series.

Two uncapped players have been named in squad with Vodacom Bulls duo of Johan Grobbelaar and Jan-Hendrik Wessels getting call ups after concluding Vodacom United Rugby Championship duties with the Bulls. Grobbelaar and Wessels will be joined by their teammates and regular Bok players Kurt-Lee Arendse, Marco van Staden and Willie Le Roux. Nine players who were not available for the Wales test have been added to the squad with World Cup winners such as Siya Kolisi, Handre Pollard and Jasper Wiese making their returns, while Cheslin Kolbe and Lukhanyo Am make the squad after recovering from injury. Three players who made their debuts against Wales have been retained in the squad – Edwill van der Merwe, Ben-Jason Dickson and Sacha Feinberg Mngomezulu while Jordan Hendrikse features on the standby list.

Full Bok Squad:


Phepsi Buthelezi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Ben-Jason Dixon (DHL Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Thomas du Toit (Bath), Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks). Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls), Vincent Koch (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Siya Kolisi (Racing 92), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears), Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92/Hollywoodbets Sharks), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Blu Revs), RG Snyman (Munster/Leinster), Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Bulls), Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Vodacom Bulls), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers).


Lukhanyo Am (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Damian de Allende (Wild Knights), Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins/Hollywoodbets Sharks), Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers), Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), Wilie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls), Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers), Makazole Mapimpi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers), Cobus Reinach (Montpellier), Morne van den Berg (Emirates Lions), Edwill van der Merwe (Emirates Lions), Grant Williams (Hollywoodbets Sharks).

Players on standby:

Forwards: Jean-Luc du Preez (Sale Sharks), Joseph Dweba, Neethling Fouche (both DHL Stormers), Celimpilo Gumede, Elrigh Louw, Wilco Louw (all Vodacom Bulls), Ntuthuko Mchunu (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Ruben van Heerden (DHL Stormers), Andre-Hugo Venter (DHL Stormers). 

Backs: Suleiman Hartzenberg (DHL Stormers), Jordan Hendrikse (Emirates Lions), Ethan Hooker (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Quan Horn (Emirates Lions), Siya Masuku (Hollywoodbets Sharks).


Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear