Max Verstappen set an all-time record for consecutive wins in F1.

Written by on 3 September, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

Max Verstappen has won the Italian Grand Prix and set a new Formula 1 record for the most wins in succession with his 10th on the trot.

Starting from second place on the grid, Verstappen overtook Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz to take the lead and held a comfortable lead till the end of the race to secure the record. Verstappen has won 12 of the 14 races for unbeaten Red Bull and matched Sebastian Vettel’s F1 record of nine straight victories last weekend at the Dutch GP. Pérez has the other two victories.

The Dutch driver made it 10 in a row in a race which was delayed by 20 minutes and cut to 51 laps after Yuki Tsunoda’s Alpha-Tauri car suffered power-unit failure during the race’s formation lap. The podium was completed by Verstappen’s teammate Sergio Perez and Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz.

Leclerc finished the race in fourth place, and the two Mercedes drivers, George Russell and Lewis Hamilton finished fifth and sixth respectively.

image: Mark Thompson / Getty Images

powered by Advanced iFrame. Get the Pro version on CodeCanyon.

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear