Spain crowned Women’s World Cup Champions.

Written by on 21 August, 2023

By: Simtho Dladla

Spain won the Women’s World Cup for the first time after beating England 1-0 in the final at Stadium Australia.

Captain Olga Carmona scored in the 29th minute, drilling in from the left of the area after England lost possession in midfield and Spain countered quickly to take advantage in the clash at Stadium Australia. In the 66th minute, Spain were awarded a penalty after a lengthy VAR check deemed that Keira Walsh handled the ball in the box. Jennifer Hermoso failed to double her side’s lead after Earps saved her spot-kick.

The first Women’s World Cup final not to feature either the United States or Germany started at quite a pace with England just about enjoying the upper hand in the battle of two first-time finalists. Spain joins the United States, Germany, Norway and Japan as World Cup champions. It also completes a treble for La Roja, which last year won the Under-20 and U-18 World Cups.

England midfielder Keira Walsh is very disappointed that they failed to win one of the biggest tournament in the football calender.

powered by Advanced iFrame. Get the Pro version on CodeCanyon.

Gagasi FM

What You Want to Hear